While browsing the aisles of Ulta, I wandered aimlessly through the hair section seeking out volumizing and thickening products that I haven’t already tried. So, when I stumbled across Drybar’s Southern Belle Volume-Boosting Root Lifter, I thought: Why not? I hadn’t tested a mousse since middle school and was intrigued that it specifically targets the roots. And after my first use, I was cursing the fact that I hadn’t bought it sooner. Made with a plant-based blend of saw palmetto (a type of palm) extract, acacia senegal gum, biotin, and pea proteins, the mousse stimulates follicles to boost volume and strengthen strands for an overall fuller look. The vegan and cruelty-free formula is also made without harmful additives like parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. One thing to note: It does have a really strong fragrance derived from violet, sandalwood, and musk. The scent reminds me of what I might find in a high-end candle or room spray, but it may not be best for those with scent sensitivities. However, If you love the fresh aroma, you’ll be happy to know that it lasts through to your next wash. To buy: $29; sephora.com or ulta.com. The brand recommends using the mousse on damp hair. Simply shake it well, spray it on to your roots, massage it into your strands, and blow-dry as usual. I typically spray it into my hands for more control over the product and then I rub it into my scalp. After blow-drying with a round or paddle brush, there’s a noticeable and immediate difference in volume that looks effortlessly natural yet a little elevated. I simply cannot achieve the same results without it—and unlike most stylers, this weightless product creates salon-worthy body that actually lasts all day. If your locks could use a boost, head to Sephora or Ulta to shop my go-to volumizing mousse and create blowout-worthy styles from home.