Yet nailing down the perfect iteration of these essential closet staples isn’t easy, and I’ve especially struggled with finding the perfect T-shirt. Most T-shirts I’ve tried have either been too long and boxy or too tight and fitted, not to mention the sleeves being too short, or even the collar being too high to be comfortable in summer. Thankfully, I’ve finally found the 10-out-of-10, no notes, absolutely perfect T-shirt after years of searching in Madewell’s Supima Cotton Essential Tee; I love it so much that I stocked up and bought three. To buy: $28; madewell.com. Little yet significant details make all the difference when it comes to finally finding the ideal wardrobe staple, so it’s the tiny but major features in Madewell’s shirt that make it a worthy essential. My ideal T-shirt has always been one that fits just right at my natural waist but is long enough to tuck into a pair of jeans, loose enough to let my skin breathe without looking oversized, and designed with just the right short sleeve length that allows me to still roll them up if I want to. Madewell’s T-shirt ticks all these boxes and more. I hate shirts that are too transparent to comfortably wear a colorful bra underneath, but Madewell’s Supima tee has just the right lightweight fabric to be breezy for summer while remaining opaque. It’s loose-fitting but still structured so you get a fitted look without a tight, clingy silhouette, and its length—falling just a little below the natural waist—makes it perfect for tucking into jumpsuits, jeans, and overalls. The best part? The T-shirt has a bit of lift at the end of the sleeves so they don’t stick to my arms, allowing my armpits to breathe. I’m not the only one in love with this classic tee: Madewell reviewers have given it a near-perfect rating. One called it the “Goldilocks tee,” while another added that it’s the “best plain T-shirt” they’ve ever bought. “I would buy this in a million colors,” said a third shopper whose sentiment I wholeheartedly share. With summer just around the corner, I’m fully planning to stock up even more if Madewell launches new colorways (it currently comes in five) of the Supima Cotton Essential Tee. Shop it now below for just $28. To buy: $28; madewell.com. To buy: $28; madewell.com. To buy: $28; madewell.com.